Ground Beef & Bacon Sweet Potato Fried Rice

DSC_0005

I grew up eating fried rice. My mom would make it in huge batches and the whole family would eat it for the next week. It’s one of those dishes that’s ridiculously easy, but so comforting and fried that you get a huge bang for your buck, at least as far as the ratio of work to amazingness.

So, of course, as an adult it’s become one of my favorite meals to both eat and play around with different versions of in my kitchen. What I’ve especially liked about fried rice as I’ve modified my recipe over the years is that you can basically put anything in it, and the rice, sesame oil and soy sauce will sort of blend it into something amazing — leftover chicken, bacon, pineapples, veggies of any kind, or my favorite: leftover Thai curry.

When I first shifted to a more paleo oriented diet, I missed having a big bowl of something so warm and comforting and conveniently easy. That was before I discovered Inspiralized. If you haven’t checked out this blog, do it now! Ali has been a huuuge inspiration to me as I try to navigate the challenge of planning nutrient-rich vegetable oriented meals. She brilliantly discovered how to make “rice” out of sweet potatoes using a vegetable spiralizer. If you don’t have one of these, I definitely recommend buying one – it makes cooking with vegetables way more versatile. (For more fried rice amazingness, check out Ali’s vegetarian version!)

To my great surprise, the sweet potato rice has the same comforting carb-y feel as rice! I don’t mean that it tasted like rice; it didn’t. But it definitely brings a whole bunch of food into a cohesive fried dish! I can definitely see this becoming a staple in my kitchen again.

The best part about this recipe is that it can be ANY MEAL! I ate it for breakfast. It was amazing. I normally bring my breakfast to the office so I’m constantly looking for egg and/or vegetable dishes that heat up well in a microwave. This one hit the spot.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lg or 2 small sweet potatoes, spiralized and processed into rice
  • 4 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • green onions, sliced
  • 3 strips of bacon, diced
  • ½ lb. ground beef
  • a pinch of dried ginger
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 large kale leaves, chopped up
  • ¼ cup coconut aminos

Instructions:

  1. In the largest possible frying pan, add the diced bacon and cook over medium heat until crispy on the edges. Remove the bacon with a slotted spoon and place in a bowl for later.
  2. Use the remaining bacon fat to scramble the 3 eggs. Remove the eggs and set in another bowl to the side.
  3. Add the beef, 2 cloves of crushed garlic and dried ginger. Break up and mix together while cooking. When done, set in a third bowl to the side.
  4. Add sesame oil to the pan.   When hot, add the sliced green onions and the remaining two cloves of garlic and cook for about 3-5 min, until slightly cooked. Add the kale and sauté for another couple min, until it just starts to wilt. Set in a fourth bowl to the side.
  5. Turn the heat up to high and add more sesame oil to the pan as needed. Add the sweet potato “rice” and stir-fry continuously for 3-5 min until just starting to brown.
  6. Finally, pour ALL your bowls back into the pot and stir-fry together along with the coconut aminos for a couple more minutes to heat everything back up.
  7. Serve garnished with some additional chopped green onions.

 

Leave a Reply

